Nevada Weed Laws

As of November 8th, 2016, both recreational and medical marijuana are legal in Nevada. Recreational users who are 21 years of age and older will soon be able to purchase up to 1 ounce of cannabis (or up to 1/8 ounce of concentrate) at a time.

Who can purchase marijuana in Nevada?
Thanks to the passing of Question 2, recreational marijuana will be officially legal for people who are 21 years of age and older.

Anyone 18 years and older with a valid medical marijuana card can purchase cannabis legally in Nevada, even if the card has been issued from another state. Minors can also qualify for a medical card as long as a parent or guardian signs the Minor Release Form and agrees to act as the child’s primary caregiver.

Medical Cannabis Store

Purchasing Limits

Although details for recreational purchases are still being ironed out, expect to be able to purchase up to one ounce of cannabis flower or up to 1/8 of an ounce of concentrate at one time from recreational dispensaries. Note a 15% excise tax will be added to every purchase.

Those with a valid medical marijuana card who are at least 18 years old and older (or their caregivers) can purchase up to 2.5 ounces worth of useable marijuana within a two-week period (14 days). This includes flower, edibles, concentrates, topicals — basically, anything containing cannabis that could get a person high. Currently the definition of “useable” is being debated, as it’s an ambiguous term.

Calculations for this limit are based on the total weight of cannabinoids in a product. For example, if a patient wishes to purchase five 100 milligram candy bars, he or she will be able to purchase the remaining weight in flower, concentrates or topicals (which equals around 2.48 ounces of usable marijuana) within a 14-day period.

Although patients can shop at multiple dispensaries, purchases are tracked in real-time throughout the state to prevent purchases of more than 2.5 ounces every 14 days.

Get your MMJ card – $59
Where to Purchase Marijuana in Nevada
A handful of licensed medical dispensaries are now open in Nevada, with recreational shops opening soon. Check out our Nevada dispensary directory for the current complete list. More licensed medical dispensaries and a few hundred licensed growers and producers are expected to open, so there will be plenty of places to find medical marijuana in Nevada at an affordable price.

Can Marijuana Help With Depression

Find The Best Local Dispensaries in Nevada

Recreational dispensaries will be determined by county size, with 80 being allocated to Clark County, 20 to Washoe County, four to Carson County and two to the additional 14 counties. Most dispensaries in Nevada will be found in highly populated areas like Las Vegas and Reno, with the remaining ones sprinkled throughout the rest of the state.

Note that liquor distributors will have a monopoly on licenses for the first 18 months, although medical marijuana shops will be first to market to sell cannabis for the same time period.

Store Hours
Dispensary store hours must be authorized by local governments, be in operation during and only during their established timeframe and have their store hours clearly posted at all times.

Store hours vary based on local government regulations. For example, Las Vegas allows medical dispensaries to operate between the hours of 6:00am and 10:00pm, while Reno dispensaries may be permitted to stay open as late as midnight.

Where can you consume marijuana in Nevada?
Cannabis consumption is for private use only. It is illegal to smoke in public, on federal land or in a vehicle without risking a fine.

There are some hotels that allow tobacco smoke, but most will not permit marijuana use because of concerns regarding conflicting federal law. This is especially true of casinos that work hard to meet gaming regulations, which makes them less likely to want to “gamble” with federal marijuana law.

Although there has been some discussion about opening a few marijuana resorts on Las Vegas Boulevard in the future, it’s always best to keep a low profile when consuming cannabis in Nevada.

Those caught violating public consumption laws in Nevada will be charged with a misdemeanor which is punishable by up to six months in jail, a fine of up to $1,000 or both. The ruling judge may assign community service in addition to or in lieu of both jail time and fines.

Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana in Nevada
Driving under the influence of marijuana is illegal in Nevada and could result in a fine, potential community service and even jail time. Law enforcement officials will determine if a person is under the influence of marijuana by requesting either a urine sample, blood sample or field sobriety test.

If the urine sample shows at least ten nanograms of marijuana per milliliter (or 15 nanograms per milliliter of marijuana metabolite) or the blood test shows two nanograms of marijuana per milliliter (or five nanograms per milliliter of marijuana metabolite), the person will be considered high “per-se,” though this can often be contested in court.

Transporting Marijuana
When marijuana is being transported in a vehicle, it should be in a sealed container away from the driver and any minor passengers. Failure to do so could result in an “Open Container” fine or, in the case of minors in the vehicle, the much more severe citation “aggravating circumstance.”

It is also illegal to take marijuana across state lines even if the next destination also has legal marijuana laws because of different marijuana regulations in each state.

Exporting Marijuana
The U.S. Postal Service should never be used as a cannabis delivery system. All mail is subject to search, especially if it smells like marijuana. If an employee at the post office notices an odd or suspicious package, they are required to report it to the proper authorities. If they decide that there is something illegal in the package, they might still deliver it and then arrest the addressee for sending contraband through the mail.

Consumption by Minors
Unless the minor has a valid medical marijuana recommendation, it is illegal for him or her to consume cannabis and cannabis-infused products and could result in a misdemeanor.

Those caught distributing marijuana-related products to minors are punishable with a minimum one-year sentence for first time offenses and up to life in prison (with potential parole after five years) for subsequent offenses.

As party of the passing of Question 2, growing at home will be banned within 25 miles of any dispensary, effectively blocking most of the population of Nevada from growing their own flower.

Nevada lawmakers back blood-only detection of marijuana DUIs

Though marijuana has long been associated as an addictive drug, it has now been accepted by the medical fraternity as an option to cure those who are suffering from certain chronic ailments. The use of marijuana has been currently permitted by twelve American states. Marijuana can now be used in its medicinal form, though it is illegal to use it just as a drug. Being in use for approximately 2000 years medical marijuana in Colorado has just been permitted.
Earliest mention about marijuana in the States was in Jamestown, Virginia, in the year 1611 though it has been used in China for much longer. During the olden days, it was used to treat various ailments like labor pains, insomnia, and spastic conditions. This drug is a product of the hemp plant and is also known as cannabis. The leaves, stems, and seeds of this plant can be smoked or made into liquids and pills.
The basics of medical marijuana in USA is that it is classified as a schedule I controlled substance according to U.S. drug laws. The meaning of this is that it is not acceptable for use by the medical fraternity. However, there are quite a number of patients who claim that they have found relief from glaucoma symptoms. They have also claimed that they have found relief from pain by smoking pot and also relief from nausea caused by chemotherapy treatment. However, according to doctors, there is no positive evidence that smoking pot give any special benefits over and above approved medications which are currently being used to treat patients. According to doctors, the effects of pot as stated by many are not yet verified by controlled scientific research.
Its main chemical ingredient is delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol, or THC and its color is gray, brown, or green. This drug has been used in countries like India, Egypt, and China to cure malaria, rheumatism, constipation, and gouts for many years. It was also used as an anesthetic during childbirth. It has been reported that cannabis has also been used in England as a cure for depression.
The positive response that this drug has received and its popularity can be understood by going through these reviews. Medical treatment of chronic ailments is going through a change and one can now see quite medical marijuana dispensary in different parts of the country and one can now also find medical marijuana doctors. You can also browse the net for additional details or check the yellow pages. Recreational Weed Laws

Goal is for July 1 retail marijuana sales, Nevada official says

Many people across the Country use cannabis for medicinal purposes. Luckily for those in the state of Colorado they can now legally seek relief without fear of the law. In the November 2000 general election, the people of Colorado voted to legalize the use of medical marijuana for persons suffering from debilitating medical conditions. Amendment 20 allows a patient to have up to 2 ounces of cannabis in their possession and grow up to 6 plants.
What does this mean for you? Well, if you have one of the qualifying medical conditions then just follow this simple guide to legally apply for your medical cannabis card.
First you will need to schedule a medical marijuana evaluation with a state approved doctor. There are many resources for researching and choosing a compassionate doctor across Colorado, so be sure to do the proper research to find a reputable source. It's best to provide this doctor with your medical records if possible. While this makes the process easier for everyone, it's not required at many locations.
Your doctor will need to diagnose you with one of the following conditions to be eligible for the official Colorado Medical Marijuana Registry:
HIV or AIDS or a medical condition or treatment that produces, for this patient, one or more of the following and which, in the physician's professional opinion, may be alleviated by the medical use of marijuana.
Severe Pain
Severe Nausea
Seizures (including those characteristic of epilepsy)
Persistent muscle spasms (including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis)
Once your doctor approves the recommendation, they will need to fill out the Physician Certification form. Only licensed medical doctor's in good standing with the state of Colorado may sign this form. Next is your official Registry Application Form. This needs to be signed, dated and notarized in front of an official state Notary. Then you need to include a photo copy of a valid Colorado ID (driver's license, state ID, etc). Finally, a $90 non-refundable application fee must be paid by an included check or money order payable to CDPHE.
All forms are available for download from the official Colorado Department of Public Health website. Be sure to make photo copies of everything! Then package and mail all the materials to the Registry's Office within 60 days of the doctor's signature:
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment Medical Marijuana Registry or MMR HSVRD-MMP-A1 4300 Cherry Creek Drive South Denver, CO 80246-1530
That's really all there is to it! Next you will have to play the waiting game because the Registry's Office is currently way behind on approving new applicants. Estimated wait times can be up to 6 months from when the Registry Office receives your application. The good news is you can use photo copies of all your documents as your temporary proof of registration until you receive your card in the mail. Where To Buy Medical Marijuana