Nevada Weed Laws

As of November 8th, 2016, both recreational and medical marijuana are legal in Nevada. Recreational users who are 21 years of age and older will soon be able to purchase up to 1 ounce of cannabis (or up to 1/8 ounce of concentrate) at a time.

Who can purchase marijuana in Nevada?
Thanks to the passing of Question 2, recreational marijuana will be officially legal for people who are 21 years of age and older.

Anyone 18 years and older with a valid medical marijuana card can purchase cannabis legally in Nevada, even if the card has been issued from another state. Minors can also qualify for a medical card as long as a parent or guardian signs the Minor Release Form and agrees to act as the child’s primary caregiver.

Medical Cannabis Store

Purchasing Limits

Although details for recreational purchases are still being ironed out, expect to be able to purchase up to one ounce of cannabis flower or up to 1/8 of an ounce of concentrate at one time from recreational dispensaries. Note a 15% excise tax will be added to every purchase.

Those with a valid medical marijuana card who are at least 18 years old and older (or their caregivers) can purchase up to 2.5 ounces worth of useable marijuana within a two-week period (14 days). This includes flower, edibles, concentrates, topicals — basically, anything containing cannabis that could get a person high. Currently the definition of “useable” is being debated, as it’s an ambiguous term.

Calculations for this limit are based on the total weight of cannabinoids in a product. For example, if a patient wishes to purchase five 100 milligram candy bars, he or she will be able to purchase the remaining weight in flower, concentrates or topicals (which equals around 2.48 ounces of usable marijuana) within a 14-day period.

Although patients can shop at multiple dispensaries, purchases are tracked in real-time throughout the state to prevent purchases of more than 2.5 ounces every 14 days.

Get your MMJ card – $59
Where to Purchase Marijuana in Nevada
A handful of licensed medical dispensaries are now open in Nevada, with recreational shops opening soon. Check out our Nevada dispensary directory for the current complete list. More licensed medical dispensaries and a few hundred licensed growers and producers are expected to open, so there will be plenty of places to find medical marijuana in Nevada at an affordable price.

Weed Dispensary Online

Find The Best Local Dispensaries in Nevada

Recreational dispensaries will be determined by county size, with 80 being allocated to Clark County, 20 to Washoe County, four to Carson County and two to the additional 14 counties. Most dispensaries in Nevada will be found in highly populated areas like Las Vegas and Reno, with the remaining ones sprinkled throughout the rest of the state.

Note that liquor distributors will have a monopoly on licenses for the first 18 months, although medical marijuana shops will be first to market to sell cannabis for the same time period.

Store Hours
Dispensary store hours must be authorized by local governments, be in operation during and only during their established timeframe and have their store hours clearly posted at all times.

Store hours vary based on local government regulations. For example, Las Vegas allows medical dispensaries to operate between the hours of 6:00am and 10:00pm, while Reno dispensaries may be permitted to stay open as late as midnight.

Where can you consume marijuana in Nevada?
Cannabis consumption is for private use only. It is illegal to smoke in public, on federal land or in a vehicle without risking a fine.

There are some hotels that allow tobacco smoke, but most will not permit marijuana use because of concerns regarding conflicting federal law. This is especially true of casinos that work hard to meet gaming regulations, which makes them less likely to want to “gamble” with federal marijuana law.

Although there has been some discussion about opening a few marijuana resorts on Las Vegas Boulevard in the future, it’s always best to keep a low profile when consuming cannabis in Nevada.

Those caught violating public consumption laws in Nevada will be charged with a misdemeanor which is punishable by up to six months in jail, a fine of up to $1,000 or both. The ruling judge may assign community service in addition to or in lieu of both jail time and fines.

Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana in Nevada
Driving under the influence of marijuana is illegal in Nevada and could result in a fine, potential community service and even jail time. Law enforcement officials will determine if a person is under the influence of marijuana by requesting either a urine sample, blood sample or field sobriety test.

If the urine sample shows at least ten nanograms of marijuana per milliliter (or 15 nanograms per milliliter of marijuana metabolite) or the blood test shows two nanograms of marijuana per milliliter (or five nanograms per milliliter of marijuana metabolite), the person will be considered high “per-se,” though this can often be contested in court.

Transporting Marijuana
When marijuana is being transported in a vehicle, it should be in a sealed container away from the driver and any minor passengers. Failure to do so could result in an “Open Container” fine or, in the case of minors in the vehicle, the much more severe citation “aggravating circumstance.”

It is also illegal to take marijuana across state lines even if the next destination also has legal marijuana laws because of different marijuana regulations in each state.

Exporting Marijuana
The U.S. Postal Service should never be used as a cannabis delivery system. All mail is subject to search, especially if it smells like marijuana. If an employee at the post office notices an odd or suspicious package, they are required to report it to the proper authorities. If they decide that there is something illegal in the package, they might still deliver it and then arrest the addressee for sending contraband through the mail.

Consumption by Minors
Unless the minor has a valid medical marijuana recommendation, it is illegal for him or her to consume cannabis and cannabis-infused products and could result in a misdemeanor.

Those caught distributing marijuana-related products to minors are punishable with a minimum one-year sentence for first time offenses and up to life in prison (with potential parole after five years) for subsequent offenses.

As party of the passing of Question 2, growing at home will be banned within 25 miles of any dispensary, effectively blocking most of the population of Nevada from growing their own flower.

With recreational weed sales coming, what will happen to medical marijuana in Nevada?

The application period for Nevada’s early-start marijuana sales is officially underway. The Department of Taxation began accepting applications Monday for businesses wanting to grow, produce and sell recreational marijuana. The licenses will allow medical marijuana dispensaries to sell cannabis products to adults 21 and older, with the goal of retail sales beginning July 1. The application deadline ends May 31. The voter-approved ballot measure tasked the state with creating a regulated marijuana sales structure by the start of 2018. But after visiting and studying other states that legalized marijuana, Nevada officials determined that waiting a full year after the drug became legal would risk growing the black market. ADVERTISING Businesses will need similar licenses at the state level to begin selling marijuana to non-medical patients. Clark County, Las Vegas and North Las Vegas are all planning to issue licenses by July 1. Henderson implemented a six-month moratorium on retail marijuana in February. Only currently licensed and operating medical marijuana establishments in good standing with the state are eligible to apply for retail, production, cultivation and testing licenses. Distribution licenses are available to liquor wholesalers, medical marijuana companies and operating medical marijuana distribution companies. Permanent regulations are being crafted by the Department of Taxation, and permanent licenses are expected to be issued on Jan. 1. License to sell How much a 6-month recreational marijuana licenses will costs businesses: $5,000 to apply for a license, plus an additional fee if the company is awarded a license. Those additional fees range from: $20,000 for retail stores $30,000 for cultivation facilities $10,000 for production facilities $15,000 for testing labs $15,000 for distributors Marijuana Lotion

Nevada marijuana sales permit application period begins

Only alcohol beats Marijuana in being the most popular mood-altering and recreational drug used across the world. Drying and shredding of the 'hemp' plant is how marijuana is produced. It is the presence of a primary active ingredient called THC present in marijuana that causes conditions like loss of inhibition, elation and distorted sense of time. It may also result in temporary increase in visual sensibility and imaginative abilities.
Although marijuana is considered as one of the major addiction causing substances around the world, its medicinal values cannot be ignored. Under the Controlled Substances Act of 1970, the United States Federal Law made it illegal to either buy, sell, possess, cultivate or use marijuana in the country. It was classified as a Schedule 1 drug meaning it had potential for abuse and no acceptable medicinal value.
But according to extensive research, Marijuana is one of the most therapeutically active substances having a lot of pathological benefits. When marijuana is used for medical purposes, in regulated dosage as a pathological drug, it is considered to have significant medical values for patients who suffer from cancer, AIDS, glaucoma, epilepsy, multiple sclerosis and chronic pain. Despite smoked cannabis not being approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration under the federal government, a lot of research and studies have established the vast number of medicinal properties that the substance has manifested in pathological conditions.
The federal government of the United States of America has not legalized any usage of marijuana, even in the form of medicinal dosage. However, out of the 50 states in the Union, currently 13 states have passed laws for compassionate use of marijuana in the form of cannabis for medicinal therapy. These states include Alaska, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Maine, Maryland, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont and Washington. But it must be kept in mind that the residents of the particular state are allowed to possess and use medical marijuana only within the state boundaries of their nativity. Apart from these, 17 other states and the District of Columbia have legislated to recognize the medicinal value of marijuana. But the state does not undertake to protect its citizens from federal legislation. Marijuana Stores Prices